I Just Quit My Job Again: A Tech bro heartbreak story šŸ’”

Photo by Bruce Hong on Unsplash

I Just Quit My Job Again: A Tech bro heartbreak story šŸ’”

Ā·

5 min read

If youā€™re here to find out why I quit, Iā€™ll cut to the chase.

I quit the job for a few reasons but majorly because they tried to cut my compensation, which was a deal-breaker. I was already being stretched to my limit and receiving a fairly low compensation. Anything lower just wasnā€™t worth the opportunity cost for me.

But this blog isn't about why I quit; it's about the aftermath of that decision in my life and the emotional rollercoaster I experienced. If you're interested, read on.

āš 
Cringe Alert: my connection with my work may sound a tad sentimental to some, but it's an integral part of my story.

...Let's get to it!

Itā€™s always been more than the compensation and the company. For me, it was about the product.

When I receive job offers, I rarely focus on company metrics, as long as their offer exceeds my base-level expectations for compensation. Most times I just want to skip to the good part and learn about the product Iā€™ll be building. That is the deal maker/breaker for me.

  • Do I see the vision for the product and do I believe in it?

  • Do I see myself happy spending overtime to make every pixel of this product perfect?

  • Will I be overjoyed and fulfilled to see this product finally ship and out there providing value to real users?

If I canā€™t answer yes to these questions, the company and the compensation donā€™t matter. I most likely wonā€™t be accepting the offer.

I've always known that the product was my top priority, but I was never fully aware of the depth of my emotional connection to the products I build until last weekendā€”when I quit my last job.

I had already made the decision weeks earlier but the weight of it didnā€™t truly hit till I started getting the ā€œremoval of accessā€ emails.

The morning after my official resignation, I followed my usual routine and settled into my chair, ready to pick up where I had left off with my work. And then it hit me again like a ton of bricks: ā€œOh no! I no longer work thereā€. I just sat there staring at the code on my screen, feeling a profound sense of loss.

My beautiful creation ( the product I was working on during the job ), which I affectionately call 'K', had been my labour of love for months. I had dreamed of the day when K would finally launch and I could bask in the joy, like a proud father watching his child take those first steps. But now, I couldn't even make changes to her anymore. I reluctantly closed my laptop and went on to do other things with my day in hopes of distracting myself from the overwhelming thought.

My beautiful Kā€¦

From the moment I wake up each morning, she's the first thing on my mind. I know every intricate detail of her codeā€”the way she gracefully renders and re-renders, the swift responsiveness to user interactions, and how she hungrily consumes data. I know every possible bug she still has and the things that could make her break. She's not just lines of code to me; she's my masterpiece, a symphony of pixels and algorithms that I've nurtured and refined.

We share this deep connection already where Iā€™m thinking about her and the bugs she still has while Iā€™m sleeping, while Iā€™m taking a walk, and yes, even during intimate moments on calls with my girlfriend, Iā€™m still thinking about K. She's become an inseparable part of my life. And now, I'm forced to 'suddenly' sever that profound connection and leave her behind.

My heartbreak is beyond wordsā€”devastatingly so. šŸ˜ŖšŸ’Æ

... Moving on.

Itā€™s been over a week now. Iā€™ve had to set my new priorities to fill the void K has left both in my schedule and my heart.

And just like with previous jobs, even though I have no more affiliation with the companies, Iā€™ll still keep checking from time to time.

Whatā€™s the progress like?
Has she been launched?
Have they released an update on her?

I don't care about the company anymore. I just want to see my babyā€”the product I poured my sweat, time, and blood intoā€” finally ship into the wild market and soar.

But most of them never do, which is another level of heartbreak on its own. šŸ˜ŖšŸ’”

šŸ’”
Having worked with multiple startups that never even made it to the launch phase, I think I know some of the reasons why most of these startups die before they even get the chance to prove themselves in the market. I'll be writing more on that in the future, so make sure to like and subscribe if that interests you.

Anyway, I miss you, K. You'll always have a special place in my heart.

But I need to move on to find a new and better love. My heart may still be broken, but I'll mend with time. Iā€™ve also learned my lesson to reduce the probability of this happening again. Thatā€™s why Iā€™ve set strict benchmarks for what product Iā€™m going to be opening my heart and time to next.

Moving forward, Iā€™ve also learned that I must pay more attention to the company and just try to get a feel for the culture during the interview stages. And for me to commit to working on anything, it must tick all the essential boxes:

  1. I need to genuinely love the product.

  2. I need to see a sense of organization and attention to detail quality in the company.

  3. I need to be able to envision a future where I work for this company, guiding a project through the development phase and successfully launching it to the market.

  4. The compensation offered should reflect the level of excellence and dedication they expect from their team.

If your company checks all these boxes and youā€™re interested in working with me, please reach out to me. Iā€™m open to gigs, contracts, internships and full-time job offers as a Frontend Developer (preferably React / React Native) or a Technical Product Manager.

BlessTheBoy (UX designer, Frontend Developer and Technical Product Manager)
Twitter
LinkedIn

Thank you.

PS

This is my first ever article and a big thank you to ZainnyšŸ§” for her invaluable review and editing assistance. If you enjoyed it, please drop a like, and consider sharing, and if you have any comments or advice, feel free to drop a comment.

Additionally, I'd love to hear your insights on what else you think I should consider when accepting a new job. Your input means a lot!

Ā